KBH announces 2020 college scholarship recipients

WATERVILLE — Kennebec Behavioral Health recently announced its 2020 college scholarship recipients.
This year, the following students will each receive a $1,000 scholarship upon successful completion of their first semester at their chosen college or university. Each of these students will be pursuing a major related to mental health.
* Jillian Brown, Cony High School – Augusta
* Ben Reed, Erskine Academy – South China
* Caitlin Paul, Gardiner Area High School – Gardiner
* Morgan Niles, Lawrence High School – Fairfield
* Chloe R. Dubois, Skowhegan High School – Skowhegan
* Estephanie Baez-Vazquez, Waterville High School – Waterville
* Kristen Rancourt, Winslow High School – Winslow
Students at partnering high schools were asked to submit an application, which included an essay question around why she or he is interested in pursuing a career in the behavioral health field. CEO Tom McAdam stated, “we are so pleased that the students who have applied already had a good understanding of the importance of the mental health field.”
The scholarships are made possible through KBH’s College Scholarship program developed to invest in future mental health professionals. Money for the program is raised through donations as well as KBH’s annual “A Night Out” comedy show and basket raffle. This year, “A Night Out” is scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 7, at the Calumet Club in Augusta. It will likely include an opportunity to attend virtually.