MSAD 52 nominees sought for Norman Prize for Teacher Excellence

ELLSWORTH — Full-time teachers with tenures of at least five years in Maine School Administrative District 52 are eligible to be nominated for the Patience W. Norman Prize for Teacher Excellence.
The $5,000 prize was established at the Maine Community Foundation to recognize outstanding teachers in the district who stimulate intellectual curiosity, raise aspirations, and demand critical thinking in their classrooms. Last year’s Norman Prize went to Leavitt Area High School chemistry teacher Julie Schmidt. The district includes schools in Turner, Leeds and Greene.
Complete guidelines and the nomination form are available on the Maine Community Foundation website, Nominations must be postmarked and mailed by Oct. 19.
Norman was a history teacher who believed her students were capable of academic excellence. She challenged them to surpass her, and their own, expectations.